Recognition of outstanding medical volunteerism – Halifax Award

Halifax award

Given in recognition of outstanding medical volunteerism, the Halifax award is named in commemoration of the Rhode Island Medical and nursing communities’ swift and generous response to the catastrophic explosion that devastated the city of Halifax, Nova Scotia, on the morning of December 6, 1917, causing 11,000 instantaneous casualties, including 2,000 dead.

Recipients of the Halifax Award

2023 Sybil Cineas, MD
2022 Laura Forman, MD and Jinen Thakkar, MD
2019 Charles R. “Chuck” Sherman, MD, MPH
2018 Charles B. “Bud” Kahn, MD